Winners of iDa’s First Annual Prom Prose

After voting for the first annual Prom Prose by iDa concluded last night, the winners have been determined.

We asked contestants to define beauty. These are the winners of the very first Prom Prose contest.

The grand prize winner is Christina Williams, a senior from Pine Bush High School. Christina has won a $100 gift certificate to iDa, A mini photo shoot from Middletown Photo Studios and a prom makeover from A Splash of Color. Congratulations Christina! Read her prose after the break.


 

There is so much beauty in life. Beauty is a gift from God. Beauty is in a woman. it’’s not the clothes she wears. Not the way she walks. Not the way she talks. Not the way she combs her hair. Beauty must be in her eyes from the way she stares. Beauty is a reflection of a soul. Beauty is in passion. Beauty is the love we show. Beauty is our skin…it doesn’t matter what color you are. Beauty is what’s in you. It doesn’t matter where you fit in. Beauty is nature…take a look around the world take a look and notice the beauty of life Have you ever really stopped for a second just to admire the beauty in everything around you? I mean really stopped and thought about how blessed you are to be where you are right here right now? There are so many beautiful things that surround you. This is the reason why I take a moment each day to let the beauty of my life grasp hold of my soul and be able to lose myself in how lucky I really am. Beauty is everywhere, but not everyone sees it. Beauty is created by your attitude and your behavior and your actions. What is beauty.

In second place is Kiara Alfonseca, a senior from Pine Bush High School. Kiara has won a $75 gift certificate to iDa and a mini photo shoot from Middletown Photo Studios. Congrats Kiara! Read her prose after the break.


 

I’ve scoured the internet for the meaning, I’ve looked through all the dictionaries that I could find. Reading the definitions out loud to myself just didn’t feel right, they left a bad taste in my mouth. Beauty is not just about aesthetic pleasure. Beauty is to evoke emotions, to stir up feelings within someone. Beauty is found in smiles and kisses, in laughter and hugs, in tears and scars, in anger and rage. Beauty is when your heart aches; knees shake, when your breath comes out in short puffs. Beauty is found in the wrinkles of the old, in the eyes of the young. Beauty is lying on the beach, watching the sun rise as your eyelids fall, seeing couples holding hands, little children kicking at the water who won’t fight back. Beauty is the way the leaves on the tree lose life or the way they persevere back in the spring. Beauty is an airport, where the world comes together to trade places, it reminds me of how small I am compared to the big Earth around me and how scary it truly is. Beauty is in the shrill of a baby’s cry and the look shared between two lovers. Beauty is the way a girl claws at her skin like it is something ugly, something incapable of beauty, tortured by the view in the mirror though the only distortion is in her own head. All these things fascinate me and excite me and scare me and they are beautiful, and if these do not make you feel something…
Never forget that every person is beautiful. Maybe they are cruel, sinking their stabbing words into the skin of others, maybe they are kind, their personality a place where others can lay their heads, maybe they are shy or strong, little or bold, but they are beautiful. Everyone is a mix of emotions, a stew of love and sadness, of heartache and excitement and if you do not believe that we are beauty incarnated, if you do not find yourself beautiful, then you must look again.

Third place goes to Pine Bush senior, A’kayla Mckenzie. A’Kayla has won a $50 gift certificate to iDa and a mini photo shoot from Middletown Photo Studio. Congratulations once again! Read her prose after the break.


 

What is beauty? My definition of beauty is Being Educated and Able to Unconditionally Teach the Young and old as well as myself, that plain and natural ideas is the best form of beauty. It has been said that “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder”.
I asked my little brother do you think I am beautiful and he answered to me “yes”. I said to him “thank you” but, What makes me beautiful? He mentioned that I am a rare and unique individual. At this point I was confused, but willing to listen to his answer as to why I was beautiful. He remembered when he was learning his colors and I had put on a brown cardboard box, with black duct tape as suspenders, a white t-shirt with blue jeans, red shoes and in my hand held different colored flowers made from construction paper. He thought I was putting on a clown show for him but, at the end he learned his colors. He went on described everything that was beautiful about me. The way I became overwhelmingly happy when he called out all the colors correctly. My pearly white teeth as I smiled. The silly faces I made to make him laugh. But most importantly teaching him his colors in a fun unique way.
Being beautiful can happen in different ways I used it as a form of teaching to help out my little brother. Beauty is not just the way a person looks but, it can be all about their feelings, thoughts and senses. Beauty comes in all colors, shapes and sizes. It’s all about the individual on how they perceive beauty to be.

Congratulations to all our winners! A big thank you to all our participants including Naomi Allen and Chris Dzurak.

A special thank you goes to our sponsors, Charlie Byrd from Middletown Photo Studios and Syan Coerbell of A Splash of Color.

Thank you to the coodinators and teachers from Pine Bush High School, Ms. Cooke and Mrs. Bray for giving us the opportunity to run our very first Prom Prose contest at the school.

Please Leave a Reply

